5.2. Urban Character Area

5.2.1. Introduction

- 5.2.1.1. The Urban Character Area incorporates all of the District's major settlements and most of the smaller settlements. Excluded are a number of bach settlements on road reserve and several smaller settlements where development is not considered appropriate, due in the main, to servicing constraints.
- 5.2.1.2. In the larger towns of Westport and Reefton, the Urban Character Area is divided into three broad zones, the commercial zone, residential zone and industrial zone. Westport also has a Port Zone. In the smaller towns there is no differentiation between zones so that the settlements are all zoned residential. A scenically sensitive residential zone covers Punakaiki and Ross Subdivision where additional controls on building design and appearance and amenity values are considered necessary in order to maintain their distinctive character. A scenically sensitive commercial zone will enable further development particularly for tourist related facilities in the Punakaiki area.